Memebox Special #74 Cleopatra: Unboxing and Review

Memebox released the Cleopatra box at the same time as the Empress’s Secret and Wonder Woman boxes. At that time, I picked up the Empress’s Secret box, which I really loved. During the last Memebox Global restock, I decided to pick up the Cleopatra box as well.

The box:

Memebox Cleopatra (9)

Info card:

Memebox Cleopatra (2)

Memebox Cleopatra (3)

Xaivita+ Goat Milk Whitening Cream: I enjoy milk skincare products, so I am happy to be able to give this goat milk cream a try! It is a nice, rich cream that goes on smoothly and absorbs into the skin nicely without being sticky. It has a fairly strong scent, but the scent is fresh and clean, so it is nice. I think that this cream fits the theme of the box well, since Cleopatra is supposed to have used goat milk in her beauty routine.

Memebox Cleopatra (4)

Memebox Cleopatra (5)

Memebox Cleopatra (6)

Memebox Cleopatra (7)

Cossu Body Ade – Rose: This soap contains rose water, and you can definitely tell–it has a very strong rose scent. It can apparently be used as a body wash, bubble bath, shampoo, and cleanser, but I think I’ll just stick to using it as a body wash and maybe a bubble bath. Cleopatra is supposed to have loved roses and rose water, so this is another product that I think fits the theme of this Memebox well. Unfortunately, my soap leaked during transit–as you can see in the photo, there is some missing from the bottle, and the bottle itself was quite sticky.

Memebox Cleopatra (8)

WillSpa Touch Secret Touch for Woman: This is an aromatherapy oil blend, the second one I’ve received in a Memebox. This product contains bergamot, rose, lavender, patchouli, and several other oils. While I like the scents of all of the oils I listed above on their own, I’m not sure about the combination of them together. Once on my skin, I did not find the scent of this product very appealing at all.  I’m also not sure that it really fits the theme of this box very well.

Memebox Cleopatra (10)

Calmia Facial Cleanser Oatmeal Therapy Foam: Oatmeal is another item that Cleopatra is supposed to have used in her beauty routine, so I think this oatmeal cleanser fits the theme of the box nicely. It has a cream texture that lathers once you mix it with water. The scent is light and pleasant–a comforting mix of herbal and powdery scents. I did find that it left my skin feeling a bit “squeaky clean,” but was not irritating at all.

Memebox Cleopatra (1)

Memebox Cleopatra (11)

Memebox Cleopatra (12)

Aromawiz Spa Bath Bomb Chocolate: The final item in this Memebox was this bath bomb. Of all the products in this box, I think this is the one that really doesn’t belong. Sure, Cleopatra liked baths, but so does most everyone, and it’s not as if she really had many other bathing options. However, it’s the fact that it features chocolate that really irks me– Cleopatra lived from 70 to 30  BC, and cacao was not known in the Old World until over 1,500 years after her death. Why in the world was this variety of the bath bomb chosen? It is also available in a mint scent, which at least would have been available to use as a beauty item in Cleopatra’s arsenal. I tried putting a bit of this bath bomb into a bowl of water, and found that the chocolate scent was quite weak, and the color made the water rather unappealing for a bath.

Memebox Cleopatra (13)

Memebox Cleopatra (14)

I liked this Memebox overall, though it was not one of my favorites. I don’t think it had the best value–it cost $29 plus s&h and only contained 5 products, 3 of which I think fit the theme well. I am happy to use most of the products that came in the box, though I may see if my mom is more interested in the WillSpa product since its scent does not seem to go well with my skin.

Note: I purchased this box during Memebox’s box review promotion with the understanding that the price of the box would be compensated by Memebox.

Leave a Comment

